Record of the Marblehead School Committee Meeting Monday January 23, 2023 7:00pm Abbot Hall

Zoom Recording ID

https://marbleheadschools-org.zoom.us/j/95547608463?pwd=NVphUS9ZakNMNEQ3cXRUamMwU0RVdz09

Members Present: Sarah Fox, Sarah Gold, Alison Taylor and Meagan Taylor **Remote Participants:**

Selectboard:	M. C. Moses Grader
	Jackie Belf-Becker
	Erin M. Noonan, remotely
	James E. Nye
	Alexa J. Singer, remotely
	Thatcher W. Kezer III, Town Administrator

Public Comment None

Joint meeting with the Selectboard to interview applicants for vacancy on School Committee.

The Town Administrator called the meeting to order at 7pm. The following roll call vote was taken: Mrs. Singer, present (remotely); Mrs. Noonan, present (remotely); Mr. Nye, present; Mrs. Belf-Becker, present; Mr. Grader, present.

The Chair of the School Committee, Ms. Sarah Fox called the school committee portion of the meeting to order at 7:01pm. All members were present. No roll call was required.

The Board met in joint session with School Committee members Sarah Fox, Chair, Sarah Gold, Meagan Taylor and Alison Taylor, in accordance with MGL Chapter 41 §11 and Marblehead School Committee policy BBBE, to fill a vacancy on the school committee. Chair Grader welcomed the candidates to the meeting and gave a brief outline for the interview process. The following applicants were interviewed: Paul Baker, Don DeWitt, Raymond Hanson, Thomas Mathers, Liam McGeown, Scott Stunkel.

The Chair called for a 5-minute recess at the completion of the interviews.

After returning from recess, a motion made and seconded to place all applicants' names in for nomination. The motion was moved by Mrs. Noonan. The board and committee members made various comments and thanked all applicants for stepping up and encouraged all to stay engaged in the Town. The Town Administrator outlined the procedure for voting sharing that a majority vote is required to appoint a new member. Additionally, it was explained that if a majority is not received on the first round the applicant with the least number of votes will be eliminated and a 2nd round of voting will take place with additional rounds to follow until a majority is received.

On a polled vote the Board's members shared their reasoning and voted as follows: Sarah Gold, Paul Baker Meagan Taylor, Paul Baker Alison Taylor, Don DeWitt Sarah Fox, Tom Mathers Alexa Singer, Tom Mathers Erin Noonan, Don DeWitt Jim Nye, Ray Hanson Jackie Belf-Becker, Paul Baker Moses Grader, Tom Mathers

Liam McGeown and Scott Stunkel were eliminated from 2nd round of voting.

A majority vote was not reached and a 2nd polled vote took place as follows: Sarah Gold, Paul Baker Meagan Taylor, Paul Baker Alison Taylor, Tom Mathers Sarah Fox, Tom Mathers Alexa Singer, Tom Mathers Erin Noonan, Tom Mathers Jim Nye, Ray Hanson Jackie Belf-Becker, Paul Baker Moses Grader, Tom Mathers

Tom Mathers is appointed to the School Committee with a term to expire in May of 2023.

The Chair of the school Committee, Ms. Fox adjourned the meeting at 9:19pm

A motion was made by Chair of the Selectboard, Mr. Grader to adjourn at 9:20pm. The motion was moved by Mr. Nye and seconded by Mrs. Noonan. Mrs. Noonan, yes; Mrs. Singer, yes; Mr. Nye, yes; Mrs. Belf-Becker, yes; Mr. Grader, yes.

Materials Included: Letters of interest/resumes Paul Baker Don DeWitt Raymond Hansen Thomas Mathers Liam McGeown Scott Stunkel

Respectfully Submitted, Lisa Dimier, Secretary Marblehead School Committee

Approved March 2, 2023